IASC Adviser of the Year

The IASC’s Thomas E. Stirling Adviser-of- the-Year Award annually recognizes outstanding student council advisers throughout the State of Indiana. These advisers exemplify skills needed to teach and model leadership skills for future leaders. Thomas E. Stirling, who served as principal of Thomas Carr Howe High School in Indianapolis in the 1950’s and 1960’s, was instrumental in promoting leadership training throughout the State of Indiana. Mr. Stirling was also instrumental in the founding of the IASC’s Summer Workshop. He held a strong belief in students and their goodness; possessed a strong and steady work ethic; and was a lifelong learner. Mr. Stirling made steady progress toward professional growth and helped teachers also to mature professionally. These attributes are among those recognized by this IASC award.

The IASC will honor as many as 6 District Advisers of the Year in each of the IASC Divisions, one from each of the 6 IASC Districts, in the spring of each year. All High School & Middle Level honorees will be recognized and honored at Representative Assembly. Elementary Level honorees will be recognized and honored locally at their schools.
To make a nomination, a school must have been an IASC member school for a minimum of TWO consecutive years.

IASC member schools can make just one nomination in any given year.
Once this nomination is received, the IASC will notify the nominee to begin the application process.


2018 – 2019 District Advisers of the Year

Not Pictured

Mary Lou Stickford
Southwestern Elementary School
Shelbyville – CE District
Elementary Division