Kate Comiskey

Rookie Adviser of the Year


Renee Cocanower
Concord High School

This year IASC has created a new rookie adviser award for advisers in their 1st, 2nd, or 3rd years of service.  The Kate Comiskey Rookie Adviser of the Year Award, established in 2008, honors the memory of Kate Comiskey.  Ms. Comiskey, a first year student council adviser at Indian Creek High School in Trafalgar, was killed in a car accident the week following the IASC HighSchool Division State Convention on her way to school. This award recognizes new advisers who have done an outstanding job as a rookie adviser.  Kate was an enthusiastic, energetic, dedicated adviser who gave selflessly of her time and talents in order to benefit the student leadership program at her high school.  She was a wonderful role model for her students and created a warm, welcoming environment for them.  She was committed to leadership and to developing leaders of character.  Here with us today to present this inaugural award are Kate’s parents, Steve and Nancy Comiskey.

Today we honor Renee Cocanower, High School Student Council Adviser at Concord High School.  Ms. Cocanower was nominated by her co-adviser and has letters of support from her principal and her junior class secretary.  Her student nominator says “she has always been a fearless leader, driving a bus full of kids to state conventions and putting herself on the line to ensure students will be excited about an event.”  Her principal describes her as selfless and enthusiastic and someone who shows great passion in her work.  Her co-adviser says “her light-hearted, fun-loving spirit shines through on a daily basis.”  This adviser is a breast cancer survivor and her attitude through this battle has taught those around her so much about the power of a positive attitude.

Please join me in congratulating our recipient of the2010 Kate Comiskey Rookie Adviser of the Year Award from, Renee Cocanower.

*Presented at the High School Division Representative Assembly at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis, March 9, 2010.

Back to Top