Jim Stock - 2010


Thomas E. Stirling

Adviser of the Year


Jim Stock
East Central High School

Each year IASC chooses an adviser to receive the Thomas E. Stirling Adviser of the Year Award.  This award, named after a former principal at T.C. Howe High School in Indianapolis, is given to an outstanding high school student council adviser who promotes student leadership development in his/her daily work.

Today we honor Jim Stock, adviser from East Central High School.  Mr. Stock has been adviser at East Central for 27 years and currently serves as a Guidance Counselor at the school.  He heads up the Extreme Canned Food Drive, the Polar Plunge for Special Olympics, and this past fall was one of the adult leaders of the 2009 IASC High School Division State Convention.

Mr. Stock has been very active in IASC events.  He works with many school and community groups to conduct collaborative service projects.  Mr. Stock has attended over 20 state student council conventions. His student body president says Mr. Stock’s favorite quote when a problem arises is, “There are no problems, only challenges, because challenges can be overcome.”   Mr. Stock’s student council has been an Honor Council for 12 years and he attended his first national student council conference this past summer in Colorado.  His principal describes him as humble, selfless, encouraging and extremely dedicated.  His colleague says, Jim is known as the “go-to guy” when it comes to harnessing student power.  “He loves kids, knows how to keep them motivated, resonates calm in a crisis and knows how to strike the balance between advising and stepping back to let students lead.”

A true affirmation of the kind of awesome adviser he is can be illustrated by the fact that his own daughter has followed in his footsteps and is also a student council adviser, herself.

It is my honor to present the Thomas E. Stirling High School Division Adviser of the Year Award to East Central High School’s Adviser, Mr. Jim Stock.

*Presented at the High School Division Representative Assembly at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis, March 9, 2010.

Back to Top